close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Riverfront Development Board

RBD phtoto
Formed in 2023 after an intergovernmental agreement between the the City of Savanna and the Savanna Park District, the Savanna Riverfront Development Board is charged with the cooperative protection and enhancement of the riverfront for the use and enjoyment of the citizens of Savanna and visitors to the Savanna area.

The board is comprised of four members, two from the Savanna City Council and two from the Savanna Park Board with the mayor of Savanna and the president of the park board serving as ex-officio members. The board has no power to tax and its function is to seek mutual agreement on the development of the riverfront. The development of the riverfront stretches from the Veterans Memorial south to the south end of the Savanna Marina. 

The RDB is currently looking at applying for a Boat Area Access Development grant for the purchase and placement of a public access dock as well as any improvements to the current boat launches.

The long-term goal is to develop an overall river front plan and use grants, TIF money, and funding from both taxing bodies to complete the plan.

Council member Nick Law is the current chairman of the board and park board member Craig Hatteberg is the vice chairman. Larry Melaas, park board, and Tevan Hartman, city council, are the other two board members. Mayor Val Gunnarsson and Park Board President Shawn Picolotti are ex-officio members. The board meets on the second Monday of the month at 5:30 p.m. at Savanna City Hall.